Take The Long Way Home

Does this ever happen to you ?

Here I am ensconced in my more than 5 decades as a citizen of this earth. I am a mother, wife, mentor , working professional, I am driving responsibly on my way home from work in my work appropriate attire, coasting in my “seen better days” family small car.

I am about to take the grocery store exit because that is what is demanded of my established adult self when the radio station I am somewhat listening to plays Supertramp’s ” Take The Long Way Home”

http://www.last.fm/music/Supertramp/_/Take+the+Long+Way+Home

and suddenly it’s 1979 again …..

I am at the wheel of my father’s Pontiac Le Mans

http://1976lemans.blogspot.ca/p/1976_20.html?m=1

with my perfect eyesight, unblemished skin and the wind blowing in my Farah Fawcet hair!

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farrah_Fawcett

It’s stinkin hot! My four windows are rolled down. I drive with one hand, the right one, while the left elbow is bended and resting on the open left window.

I am wearing a ” jump suit” a sort of one piece overall type outfit with a wide belt.

I am speeding just a little, I can feel the breeze on the back of my neck .The volume on the 8 Track tape is at stadium rock concert decibels. I am on my way to meet my cousins and best friends . The night is young , we are young , the night belongs to us 😊

I turn in to my respectable driveway an hour later having completely bypassed the grocery store .

I step out of the car with a smile on my face. My family asks ; How come you are late ?

I turn to them and say ; I took the long way home .

Where did you go ? They say .

1979 I reply .

Does this ever happen to you ?

 

8 thoughts on “Take The Long Way Home

  1. Joan wrote: “This was fun! music can take me back just like that-and I am right
    there, in church or a concert hall, watching, listening to my
    children play cello, violin or viola.Wonderful!!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

