The More Things Change The More They Stay the Same OR (Similar Features with Longer Hair)

 


I miss my daughter and her girlfriends .

The following was written last year but I still feel the same way ;

August 2014

My beloved girls are here for dinner.

All the girls are pretend angry with my honey as he offers his famous brownies for dessert. The same recipe he has been making for them since they were little. As they are now all diet conscious this is not appropriate but secretly they have been hoping to “oblige” him.

Now they have torn out of the house as if it was on fire and I can see them sitting cross -legged, stretched out or hugging their knees on the back deck. I can see them because as usual I am the one clearing the table, washing the dishes and reflecting on how blessed I am . My honey having made our delish dinner is watching tv.

They sit in the same chairs at the dinner table and on the same stairs on the back deck as they have done in the 13 years I have known them. They no longer hold chalk and play hopscotch, the chalk is replaced by cell phones, the bicycles no longer litter the driveway as  each of them has their own car BUT they giggle as much as they used to, talk as much as they used to and sit on my bed as if I wasn’t there 🙂

It is a constant that I draw happiness from.

4 thoughts on “The More Things Change The More They Stay the Same OR (Similar Features with Longer Hair)

Leave a Reply

